Fieldwork (COHME BS)

COMHE BS Fieldwork Project:

All students pursuing the BS degree in Community Health must complete a fieldwork project. Students select their own fIeldwork site and design their own community health research project, with faculty guidance. Students are required to spend 200 hours in the field on their project.

Overview: Fieldwork Project and COMHE Coursework

The fieldwork project is central to the learning objectives of the BS degree in Community Health, thus there are connections to it throughout the coursework. Students should begin thinking about their fieldwork project in their first semester in the major (in COMHE 301), as they do informational interviews at potential fieldwork sites. In "Community Health Assessment," (COMHE 411) students should be thinking about the community they want to work in and what the health needs are there. The fieldwork itself is designed to coincide with COMHE 412, taken during the summer between Year 1 and Year 2 in the major. The final project is completed in the Research Seminar (COMHE 413) in the last semester.

New Media & ePortfolios

Throughout the fieldwork project, students will write about their experiences, document the fieldwork with digital photos, and upload elements related to fieldwork to their ePortfolios. Upon graduation, students can share the ePortfolio with potential employers. Instruction on these elements will be provided across a number of courses.

Potential Fieldwork Sites

Aging
Sea-Crest Health Care Center http://www.seacresthcc.com/
Sivercrest Center for Nursing & Rehabilitation http://www.silvercrest.org/
Age-Friendly New York City http://www.nyam.org/agefriendlynyc/

At-Risk Youth, LGBT
Green Chimneys http://www.greenchimneys.org/

Children, Child Services
Graham-Windham http://www.graham-windham.org/
Graham-Windham Services Early Head Start http://www.graham-windham.org/
Churchill School http://www.churchillschool.com/page.cfm?p=1

Clean Water
Constru Casa (Guatemala) http://www.construcasa.org/nuevo/index.php

Communications, Social Media
Big Duck http://www.bigducknyc.com/about/internships

Community Gardening
Horticulture Society of NY http://www.hsny.org/
Red Rabbit Gardening Labs http://www.myredrabbit.com/labs/
Just Food http://www.justfood.org/

Community Health Centers
Access Community Health Center http://www.accessCHC.org

Dept.'s of Health
NYC DOHMH-Office of Minority Health http://www.nyc.gov/html/doh/html/mh/mh.shtml
DOHMH http://www.nyc.gov/html/doh/html/home/home.shtml
Kyoto City of Health and Welfare http://www.pref.kyoto.jp/en/tel2.html

Disability & Independence
Brooklyn Center for the Independence of the Disabled http://www.bcid.org/

Disease Associations & Organizations
Crohn's Disease Association http://www.ccfa.org/
The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society http://www.lls.org/
Kyoto Intractable Disease Empowerment Center
American Cancer Society http://www.cancer.org

Environmental Health
WE ACT for Environmental Justice http://weact.org/

Health Promotion
Health Promotion Learning Lab, Children's Health Fund, Harlem Children's Zone http://chf.childrenshealthfund.org

Hospitals/Health Care
Montefiore http://www.montefiore.org/
North Westchester Hospital http://www.nwhc.net/default
Kingsbrook Jewish Hopstal http://www.kingsbrook.org

Immigrant Health
DWA FANM (Haitian Women & Girls Rights Organization) http://www.dwafanm.org/
Diaspora Community Services http://www.diasporacs.org/

Nutrition
The Nourishing Kitchen of NYC http://www.nourishingnyc.org/

Physical Activity
I Challenge Myself http://ichallengemyself.org/

Reproductive Health
Bronx Health Link http://www.bronxhealthlink.org/bronxhealthlink/

Research
SJS http://www.socialjusticesexualty.com

Substance Use
Harm Reduction Coalition http://www.harmreduction.org/
Washington Heights Corner Project http://www.cornerproject.org/

Transportation
Transportation Alternatives http://www.transalt.org/

Yoga
Urban Zen http://www.urbanzen.org/

Forms

Preceptor's Evaluation of Student <doc>

2180 Third Ave NYC 10035
(212) 396-7729