CUNY Home CUNY energy website

Teresa J. Bandosz

Teresa J. Bandosz

The City College of New York

Phone: (212) 650-6017

Research Interest

Adsorption and catalysis, nano-engineered materials, graphene-containing composites, surface chemistry of carbonaceous materials, surface reactivity, reactive adsorption, waste utilization, desulfurization of fuels, development of air and water filtration media, energy storage/supercapacitors, gas sensors

TERESA J. BANDOSZ was awarded a PhD in chemical engineering from the Technical University of Krakow, Poland, in 1989 and a DSc in physical chemistry/analytical chemistry from the Marie Curie University in Poland in 1998. She has been a faculty member of the chemistry department of The City College of New York since 1996 (full professor since 2005) and guest professor at Dalian University of Technology in China 2006-2008. Her research, which has been reported in more than 210 peer-reviewed papers, five book chapters and more than 120 conference presentations, focuses on the application of adsorption to environmental problems, which include development of new adsorbents based on activated carbons, clays and industrial waste, desulfurization of air, fuel gases and liquid fuel, removal of toxic industrial gases and development of carbons for supercapacitors. She has vast experience in the study of the surface chemistry of nanoporous carbons using various methods and relating this to the performance of these materials in the environment. She holds four patents, is a consultant for several companies, including DuPont, Synagro and FuelCell Energy, and is responsible for controlling odor removal from the water pollution control plants of New York City. She has been a member of the scientific committees of various international conferences, serves on the editorial boards of Adsorption Science and Technology and Journal of Colloid and Interface Science, and recently edited the book “Activated Carbon Surface in Environmental Remediation” published by Elsevier in 2006. She collaborates with scientists from the United Kingdom, Italy, the Republic of South Africa, China, Australia, Spain, Germany, Ukraine and France.