Faculty

The CAT draws on faculty and staff expertise at several CUNY campuses, with CAT headquarters at City College. Over 30 photonics faculty provide the CAT with unique scientific and technical capabilities. CAT faculty, along with dozens of post-doctoral associates and students; conduct applied research and development work applicable to products and processes for industry.


Samir Ahmed
Professor of Electrical Engineering
City College
(212) 650-7250
ahmed@ccny.cuny.edu

Robert R. Alfano
Distinguished Professor of Science and Engineering
City College
(212) 650-5531
Fax: (212) 650-5530
ralfano@ccny.cuny.edu

Mohamed Ali
Professor of Electrical Engineering
City College
(212) 650-6737
ali@ccny.cuny.edu

Neo A. Antoniades
Associate Professor of Engineering Science and Physics
College of Staten Island
(718) 982-3291
neo.antoniades@csi.cuny.edu

Mark F. Arend
NOAA CREST Research Professor
Chief Scientist, NYCMetNet
Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering
City College
(212) 650-7898
marend@ccny.cuny.edu

Stuart Asser
Professor/Chair of Electrical & Computer Technology
Queensborough Community College
(718) 631-6207
SAsser@qcc.cuny.edu

Valeria Balogh-Nair
Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
City College
(212) 650-8340
balogh@sci.ccny.cuny.edu

Marom Bikson
Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Co-Director, Neural Engineering Laboratory
The City College of New York of CUNY
CUNY spinoff company Soterix Medical
(212) 650-6791
bikson@ccny.cuny.edu

Diana P. Bratu
Assistant Professor of Biophotonics
Co-Director of the BioImaging Facility
Biological Sciences Department
The Gene Center, Hunter College
(212) 772-5235
bratu@genectr.hunter.cuny.edu

Ted Brown
Professor of Computer Science
Executive Officer CUNY PhD Program in Computer Science
Executive Director, CUNY Institute for Software Design and Development
TBrown@gc.cuny.edu

Ying-Chih Chen
Professor of Physics
Hunter College
(212) 772-4526
y.c.chen@hunter.cuny.edu

David Crouse
Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering
Director CUNY Center for Advanced Technology
Director Center for Metamaterials, IUCRC
City College
(212) 650-5330
dcrouse@ccny.cuny.edu

Alexander Couzis
Herbert G. Kayser Professor and Chair Dept. of Chemical Engineering
City College
(212) 650-6701
couzis@ccny.cuny.edu

Lev I. Deych
Assistant Professor of Physics
Queens College
(718) 997-3380
lev_deych@qc.cuny.edu

Roger Dorsinville
Professor/Chair of Electrical Engineering
City College
(212) 650-8253/6042
dorsinville@ccny.cuny.edu

Charles Michael Drain
Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Hunter College
(212) 650-3791
cdrain@hunter.cuny.edu

Harry D. Gafney
Professor of Chemistry
Queens College
(718) 997-4114
harry_gafney@qc.edu

Swapan Gayen
Associate Professor of Physics
City College
(212) 650-5580
gayen@sci.ccny.cuny.edu

Azriel Genack
Professor of Physics
Queens College
(718) 997-3373
azriel.genack@qc.cuny.edu

Anshel Gorokhovsky
Professor of Physics
College of Staten Island
(718) 982-2815
gorokhovsky@mail.csi.cuny.edu

Paul Gottlieb
Assistant Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
City College
(212) 650-7709
pgottl@med.cuny.edu

Steve Greenbaum
Professor of Physics & Astronomy
Hunter College
(212) 772-4973
Steve.Greenbaum@hunter.cuny.edu

David Gruber
Assistant Professor of Biology
Baruch College and the Graduate Center of the CUNY
(646) 660-6236
david.gruber@baruch.cuny.edu

Ping-Pei Ho
Professor of Electrical Engineering
City College
(212) 650-6808
ho@sci.ccny.cuny.edu

Leslie Isaacs
Professor of Chemical Engineering
City College
(212) 650-7146
isaacs@ccny.cuny.edu

Shi Jin
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
College of Staten Island
(718)982-3890
jin@mail.csi.cuny.edu

Igor L. Kuskovsky
Assistant Professor of Physics
Queens College
(718) 997-3367
igor.kuskovsky@qc.cuny.edu

Lihong Li
Assistant Professor of Engineering Science & Physics
College of Staten Island
(718) 982-2969
lil@mail.csi.cuny.edu

Hyungsik Lim
Assistant Professor, Physics Department
Hunter College and the Graduate Center of the CUNY
212-772-4806
Hyungsik.Lim@hunter.cuny.edu

Zhiheng Liu
Assistant Professor of Physics
Brooklyn College  
(718) 951-5000 x2870
zliu@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Alan Lyons
Professor of Chemistry
College of Staten Island
718.982.3951
Alan.Lyons@.csi.cuny.edu
Industry Showcase abstract and video

Nicholas Madamopoulos
Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering
City College
(212) 650-8383
nmadamopoulos@ccny.cuny.edu
Industry Showcase abstract

Hiroshi Matsui
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Hunter College
(212) 650-3918
hmatsui@hunter.cuny.edu

Vinod Menon
Associate Professor of Physics
Queens College of CUNY
(718) 997-3147
vmenon@qc.edu

Fred Moshary
Professor of Electrical Engineering
City College
(212) 650-7251
moshary@ee-mail.engr.ccny.cuny.edu

Djafar K. Mynbaev
Professor of Electrical and Telecommunications Engineering Technology
New York City College of Technology of CUNY
(718) 260-5304
dmynbaev@citytech.cuny.edu

Mim Lal Nakarmi
Assistant Professor
Department of Physics
Research Website
Brooklyn College-CUNY
(718) 951-5000 ext.2867
MLNakarmi@brooklyn.cuny.edu


Ralf M. Peetz
Associate Professor of Chemistry
College of Staten Island
(718) 982-3928
peetz@mail.csi.cuny.edu  

 

Vladimir Petricevic
Associate Professor of Physics
City College
(212) 650-5550
vpetricevic@ccny.cuny.edu  

Manfred Philipp
Professor/ President, CUNY Academy of the Humanities and Sciences, Biochemistry
Lehman College
(718) 960-8648  
manfred.philipp@gmail.com

Yuhang Ren
Professor of Physics & Astronomy
Hunter College
(212) 772-5258
yre@hunter.cuny.edu  

Ali Sadegh
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
City College
(212) 650-5203
sadegh@me.ccny.cuny.edu

Kai Shum
Professor of Physics
Brooklyn College
(718) 951-5000 (Ext. 2863)
kshum@brooklyn.cuny.edu  

Gillian Small
Associate Professor of Biology, City College
Vice Chancellor for Research, CUNY
(212) 650-8307
Gillian.Small@mail.cuny.edu

Maria Tamargo
Professor of Chemistry; Undergraduate Student Advisor
City College
(212) 650-7941
tamar@sci.ccny.cuny.edu

Jiufeng J. Tu
Professor of Physics
City College
(212) 650-5558
jtu@sci.ccny.cuny.edu  

Raymond T. Tung
Professor of Physics
Brooklyn College
(718) 951-5807
rtung@brooklyn.cuny.edu

M. Umit Uyar
Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
City College and CUNY Graduate Center
(212) 650 5632
uyar@ccny.cuny.edu

Luat Vuong
Professor of Physics
Queens College and CUNY Graduate Center
(718) 997-3374
Luat.Vuong@qc.cuny.edu

Eleanore T. Wurtzel
Professor of Biology & Biochemistry
Lehman College
(718) 960-8463
wurtzel@lehman.cuny.edu

John (Jizhong) Xiao
Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering
City College
CCNY Robotics Lab
(212) 650-7268
jxiao@ccny.cuny.edu

Nan-Loh Yang
Professor of Chemistry
College of Staten Island
(718) 982-3899
Yang-N@postbox.csi.cuny.edug

Alexander M. Zaitsev
Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences
College of Staten Island
(718) 982-2830
zaitsev@mail.csi.cuny.edu

Hualin Zhong
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Hunter College
(212) 772-5231
zhong@genectr.hunter.cuny.edu

Shuiqin Zhou
Associate Professor of Chemistry
College of Staten Island
718-982-3897
zhoush@mail.csi.cuny.edu

Zhigang Zhu
Professor of Computer Science and Engineering
City College and the Graduate Center
Director of City College Visual Computing Lab
(212) 650-8799  (CCNY)
(212) 817-8210 (GC)
zhu@cs.ccny.cuny.edu