Postdoc Stipend Guidelines


Effective with all Kirschstein-NRSA awards made on or after October 1, 2013, the following annual stipend levels apply to all individuals receiving support through institutional research training grants or individual fellowships, including the Minority Access to Research Career (MARC) program.

Postdoctoral: for institutional training grants (T32, T90) and individual fellowships (F32): The stipend level for the entire first year of support is determined by the number of full years of relevant postdoctoral experience when the award is issued. Relevant experience may include research experience (including industrial), teaching assistantship, internship, residency, clinical duties, or other time spent in a health-related field beyond that of the qualifying doctoral degree. Once the appropriate stipend level has been determined, the fellow must be paid at that level for the entire grant year. The stipend for each additional year of Kirschstein-NRSA support is the next level in the stipend structure and does not change mid-year.



Career Level
   Stipend for FY 2014
Years of Experience:    
  2  $45,432
  3  $47,244
  4  $49,128
  5  $51,096
  7 or more  $55,272


(Notice Number: NOT-OD-14-046)

Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award (NRSA) Stipends, Tuition/Fees and Other Budgetary Levels

Effective for Fiscal Year 2014