Student Honors

2008 Salk Institute Interns

Diane Kachen and William Mak

Two of the University's eight 2008 Salk Scholars are heading to the prestigious Salk Institute for Biological Studies in La Jolla, CA., as summer interns. Diana Kachan, a chemistry/biology major studying for the CUNY Baccalaureate Degree who attends Baruch College, and William Mak, a biochemistry major at the William E. Macaulay Honors College who attends City College, were inspired by personal experiences to choose careers in medicine. In her native Belarus, Kachan volunteered in an orphanage filled with children affected by the Chernobyl disaster; Mak was touched by personal and family medical problems. The institute founded by City College alumnus Dr. Jonas E. Salk, who developed the first polio vaccine, also welcomed two CUNY interns last summer: Brooklyn College biology major and Salk Scholar Jewel Liao, and Yi Cai Isaac Tong, a student at The Sophie Davis School of Biomedical Education.

Top Prize Winner in Architecture

Jeonghoon Park, a fifth-year City College architecture student from Seoul, South Korea, was awarded first prize in the 2008 Eleanor Allwork Scholar Grant program. The award provides a $10,000 stipend. It is given by the Center for Architecture Scholarship with additional support from the American Institute of Architects New York chapter and AIA National. Mr. Park, whose childhood hobby was making models, came to New York four years ago to study architecture at CCNY. "Designing spaces really interests me," he said. He was selected for the Allwork award based on a portfolio he submitted that consisted of a housing project design from his fourth year and a design for a water taxi station from his third year.

10 Laurel Awards Winners Named

Ten students have received the University's Peter Jennings Scholarship Laurel Awards, given to exemplary students who have earned their General Equivalency Diploma (GED), have enrolled in CUNY colleges, have been nominated by the GED program and have written an essay. Winners are: Jacinto Aponte, Patricia Barrett, Silvia Garcia, Gade Niang, Nokeisha Robertson from Borough of Manhattan Community College; Adissa Charles from York College; Lorna Liverpool and Phillip Parris from Medgar Evers College; Jenny Payamps from Bronx Community College; Juan Ruiz from LaGuardia Community College. Two College Transition Fellowship winners are Lehman College graduates Vera Matoshi and Jennifer Herrera.