Faculty Honors

Professor Emerita Siraisi To Be Haskins Prize Lecturer

Hunter Distinguished Professor Emerita Nancy Siraisi was named the 2010 Charles Homer Haskins Prize Lecturer by the American Council of Learned Societies. Siraisi, a recent recipient of a MacArthur Foundation "genius grant," is a leading scholar in the history of medicine and science of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. Her research has ranged widely across these fields, from her first book on the university curriculum in medieval Padua to her current work on the role of doctors in history-writing in the Renaissance. She will lecture at the ACLS annual meeting in May 2010.

Caws, Sorkin Elected to Elite Academy of Arts and Sciences

Mary Ann Caws, Distinguished Professor of French, English, and Comparative Literature at the Graduate Center, and Michael Sorkin, Distinguished Professor of Architecture and director of the Graduate Urban Design Program at CCNY's Spitzer School of Architecture, are the latest CUNY faculty members elected Fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one the nation's highest honors. Caws has written or edited more than 60 books; her expertise covers a wide swath of 20th Century avant-garde literature and art. Sorkin is president of the Institute for Urban Design and a contributing editor for Architectural Record.

Salamandra Wins Fellowship For Syrian TV Project

Lehman anthropology professor Christa Salamandra has won the American Council of Learned Societies/NEH/SSRC International Area Studies Fellowship to complete a book on Syrian TV productions. Her work will explore the paradox of Ramadan broadcasting in Syria - special dramatic series shown throughout the Arab world during the Islamic holy month of Ramadan - set against Syria's ruling Ba'th party and its socialist and secular ideologies. She will explore the processes of regionalization, liberalization and Islamization through the cultural politics of Syrian TV dramas.

Johnson Honored for Work In Liberal Arts Education

Brooklyn College and Graduate Center history professor Robert David Johnson has won the fifth annual Philip Merrill Award for Outstanding Contributions to Liberal Arts Education. The prize, sponsored by the American Council of Trustees and Alumni, honors those who have made an extraordinary contribution to the advancement of liberal arts education, core curricula, and the teaching of Western civilization and American history. Johnson is the author of six books, including All the Way with LBJ: The 1964 Presidential Election.