Poll-Worker Initiative

The Poll-Worker Initiative recruits and trains hundreds of students to serve as poll-workers with the Board of Elections to help address shortages for the city-wide primary and general elections. 

The Initiative also provides for on-campus poll worker trainings at select CUNY campuses across the five boroughs.

The Board of Elections is looking for students who can work as Inspectors or Interpreters on Election Day.

FOR INSPECTORS, ONCE SCREENED, THE BOARD OF ELECTIONS WILL PROVIDE:

  • A six-hour training session for potential workers
  • Compensation of $200.00 per day for working in the primary election and the general election
  • Compensation of $100 for attending training and passing the exam

FOR INTERPRETERS, ONCE SCREENED, THE BOARD OF ELECTIONS WILL PROVIDE:

  • A three-hour training session for potential workers
  • Compensation of $200.00 per day for working in the primary election and the general election
  • Compensation of $25 for attending training and passing the exam

Please click on poll worker fact sheet for eligibility requirements here. <pdf>

You can apply online here >> <pdf>

You can download a poll worker application here <pdf>

 

For more information, please contact your campus coordinator:


Baruch College
Shadia A. Sachedina

Interim Director of Student Life
Office of Student Life - Box B2-210
T: (646) 312-4555    F: (646) 312-4551
Shadia.Sachedina@baruch.cuny.edu

Borough of Manhattan Community College
Ms. Shemeka Peters

Employer Relations Specialist
Ctr. for Career Development & Placement
T: (212) 220-8170 ext 5178 F: (212) 346-8519
speters@bmcc.cuny.edu

Bronx Community College
Ms. Melissa Kirk

Director of Student Life
Office of Student Life, RBSC 302
T: (718) 289-5193 F: (718) 289-6021
melissa.kirk@bcc.cuny.edu

Brooklyn College
Ms. Moraima Cunningham

Director for Student Engagement and Judicial Affairs
Community Outreach and Development
T: (718) 951-5352   F: (718) 951-4453
dwells@brooklyn.cuny.edu

City College
Ms. Shamaya Green

Office of On-Campus Student Employment
College Assistant  Coordinator
T: (212) 650-6065   F: (212) 650-7504
sgreen@ccny.cuny.edu

College of Staten Island
Mr. Gregory Brown

Associate Director, Student Life
T: (718) 982-3089 F: (718) 982-3087
gregory.brown@csi.cuny.edu

Graduate Center
Ms. Elise Perram

Director of Student Activities
T: (212) 817-7411 F: (212) 817-1621
eperram@gc.cuny.edu

Hostos Community College
Jerry Rosa

Director, Student Activities
Location: C-371
T: (718) 518-6768
JROSA@hostos.cuny.edu

Hunter College
Ms. Teneia Wooten

Asst. Director of Student Activities & Leadership Dev.
T: (212) 772-4908    F: (212) 772-5438
teneia.wooten@hunter.cuny.edu

Kingsborough Community College
Ms. Marisa Joseph

Office of Career Counseling, Placement and Transfer
Location: C-102
T: (718) 368-5115 F: (718) 368-5366
Marisa.Joseph@kbcc.cuny.edu

John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Ms. Crystal Farmer

Office Manager
T: (212) 237-8746  C: (646) 557-4543   
cfarmer@jjay.cuny.edu

LaGuardia Community College
Ms. Eneida Rivas

Associate Director of College & Community Relations
T: (718) 482-5058 F: (718) 482-5016
eneidar@lagcc.cuny.edu

Ms. Irene Sosa
Director of Student Activities
T: (718) 482-5196 F: (718) 482-5181
ireneso@lagcc.cuny.edu

Lehman College
Mr. Juan Vazquez

Internship Coordinator at the Career Services Center
Shuster 254
T: (718) 960-8366.
juan.vazquez@lehman.cuny.edu

Medgar Evers College
Mr. Kevin Adams

Office of Student Activities
T: (718) 270-6050 F: (718) 270-6198
kadams@mec.cuny.edu

New York City College of Technology
Daniel Fictum

Director of Student Life and Development
Location: G-516
T: 718-260-5391
dfictum@citytech.cuny.edu

Queens College
Mr. John Andrejack

Director, Student Life Office
Student Union 320
T: (718) 997-3970  F: (718) 997-3972
john.andrejack@qc.cuny.edu

Queensborough Community College
Ms. Constance Peluso

Director of Career Services
Contact: Lucille Sparacio
T: (718) 631-6297
CPeluso@qcc.cuny.edu

York College
Mr. Anthony Andrews

Acting Director of Student Activities
T: (718) 262-2936 F: (718) 262-2289
Andrews@york.cuny.edu

CUNY School of Law
Mr. Ryan Dooley

Voter Coordinator
T: (718) 340-4188 F: (718) 340-4372
ryan.dooley@mail.law.cuny.edu

Guttman Community College
Ms. Rochel Pinder-Cuffie
Acting Director of Partnerships & Community Engagement
T: (646) 313-8013
Rochel.Pinder@guttman.cuny.edu