Karl Gluck: October 2011

Volunteer with citizenship now

Karl Gluck Karl Gluck has been a dedicated Corps Member since early 2009 and is one of our longest tenured volunteers at CUNY Citizenship Now!:


Q.  Why did you choose to volunteer with CUNY Citizenship Now?
A.  "I wanted to help people and represent the nonprofit I was working for, which is called Chinatown Manpower Project. "

Q. What is your favorite part of our weekend events?
A.  "I like helping people. I speak Russian and Chinese and use them at events. I also consider CUNY staff like Teuta, Nadine and Kym to be friends."

Q.  Because of the Volunteer Corps, do you feel that your knowledge and relationship to the immigrant community and the challenges they face has improved?  
A.   
"I have learned something about immigration law from the events."

Q.  Tell us about yourself--do either you or a family member have a personal immigration story?
A. 
"My wife is Chinese, and I have seen her all the way from being an illegal immigrant to becoming a citizen. My stepson came to the United States and is also now a citizen."

Q.  Has volunteering with CUNY Citizenship Now! had a personal impact on you?
A. 
"It’s great to do volunteer work, and I think it has been an important part of my life.  As a result of joining Citizenship Now!, I finished CUNY Graduate School's Immigration Law Certificate Course. I hope to work as an immigration paralegal.  I have done some work interpreting and translating for a few lawyers on individual cases."

Q.  How long have you been in New York?
A. 
"I’ve been in New York for 20 years and lived in Brooklyn, Manhattan and Queens.  I currently live in Briarwood, which is near Queens Boulevard between Jamaica and Kew Gardens.  I used to live in Flushing, where I did most of my shopping using Chinese."

Q.  Where are you from originally?
A. 
"I am from Florida.  I grew up in a small town of around 300 people on the Gulf of Mexico, but I went to high school with a lot of people that had moved down from New York. They told me I didn't belong in Florida, that I was more like a New Yorker, so that's why I'm here."

Q.  What did you study when you were in school?
A. 
"I have a Masters in Russian language, and my minor was Chinese."

Q.  What does community mean for you?
A.  "A place where you feel at home outside your home."

Q.  What is your favorite hobby/interest outside of volunteering?
A.  "Improving my Chinese, which still needs work after 16 years of studying."